Stacks Image 699
Stacks Image 911
Destiny Ramos
Stacks Image 915
Kahlia Langram
LAA Awards Two Scholarships

The Lasso Alumni Association is proud to announce its 2015 scholarship winners:

Destiny Ramos
Constance Douglas Scholarship of $1,500
Traditionally awarded to the qualified applicant with the highest grade point average, this scholarship honors Constance Douglas, founder of the Lasso pep squad. She provided the vision for the traditional Lasso uniform and for developing roping skills. She was named to the National Cowgirl Hall of Fame and was known for her motto: “Always saddle your own horse.”

Kahlia Langram
Jack Long Scholarship of $1,500
Traditionally awarded to the qualified applicant who has demonstrated strong community service and exceptional roping skills, this scholarship honors Jack Long, experienced roper who taught the Lassos to rope in the 1930s. For three decades he devoted himself to helping the Lassos develop the roping skills that today still set them apart nationally as a unique pep squad. His daughter, Patsy Skeels, is a member of LAA.

LAA Board member Beth Bender Wells chaired the Scholarship Committee. Serving on the committee were Susan Hollingsworth. Beth Smith, and Nancy York.