The Lasso Alumni Association has awarded $39,500 in college scholarships to graduating Lasso seniors. Each year the LAA awards two named scholarships that preserve the history of the organization and additional scholarships as funds permit.

Constance Douglas Reeves Scholarship

Traditionally awarded to the qualified applicant with the highest grade point average, this scholarship honors Constance Douglas Reeves, founder of the Lasso pep squad. She provided the vision for the traditional Lasso uniform and for developing roping skills. Named to the National Cowgirl Hall of Fame, she was known for her motto: “Always saddle your own horse.”

Jack Long Scholarship

Traditionally awarded to the qualified applicant who has demonstrated strong community service and exceptional roping skills, this scholarship honors Jack Long, experienced roper who taught the Lassos to rope in the 1930s. For three decades he devoted himself to helping the Lassos develop the roping skills that still set them apart today as a unique pep squad. His daughter, Patsy Long, is a member of the LAA.

Destiny Ramos – LAA Scholarship Recipient

“I truly thank all the alumni for everything they have done and taught me throughout all my four years of being a Lasso. It was quite an experience that made my life at Thomas Jefferson feel complete, and I will always hold it close to my heart. As I go on and continue my education at Texas State University, I will carry with me the pride and love I have for that high school.”

Selena Casanova, 2010 Roping Team Captain
LAA Scholarship Recipient

Scholarship Recipients


  • Takoda Farias, Constance Douglas Reeves Scholarship
  • April Ruvalcaba, Jack Long Scholarship
  • Yaileen Soriano, JoAnn Ehrlich Dickinson Scholarship
  • Yamilex Vela
  • Brandi Granado


  • Klarissa Valdez, Constance Douglas Reeves Scholarship
  • Desiree De La Cruz, Jack Long Scholarship
  • Melissa Hernandez
  • Brianna Maravilla
  • Savannah Pullin
  • Destiny Ramos, Constance Douglas Reeves Scholarship
  • Kahlia Langram, Jack Long Scholarship
  • Alyssa Mendoza, Constance Douglas Reeves Scholarship
  • Diana Rodriguez, Jack Long Scholarship
  • Gabriella Leon
  • Angelica Rodriguez, Constance Douglas Reeves Scholarship
  • Megan Kee, Jack Long Scholarship
  • Armanda Casarez
  • Adrienne Cepeda
  • Karen Garzon
  • Alexus Hernandez
  • Leslie Rivas
  • Destiny Urrutia
  • Brittany McInnis, Constance Douglas Reeves Scholarship
  • Melanie Lopez, Jack Long Scholarship
  • Elizabeth Izarrara
  • Laura Montealvo
  • Rochell Puertas
  • Destinee Salas, Constance Douglas Reeves Scholarship
  • Celena Garza, Jack Long Scholarship
  • Selena Casanova
  • Gabrielle Mayes
  • Amanda Orozca
  • April Perez

Become a part of the Lasso sisterhood by applying for membership today.

Start typing and press Enter to search