Frequently Asked Questions

How does a girl become a Lasso?

We want every girl to realize her dream of becoming a Lasso. These are the first steps and criteria that prospective members must meet to be considered for inclusion:

  1. Submit an application.
  2. Must have been involved with band, cheer, sports or Lariats.
  3. No less than three recommendations, with one of them being a sponsor.
  4. Must have a grade point average (GPA) of at least 2.5.

Once the above criteria have been met, hopeful members go through roping routine tryouts before a panel of alumna and dance instructors.

How many Lassos do we have?

The number of Lassos varies from year to year. The 2023-2024 roster currently stands at 15.

What expenses are involved in being a Lasso?

Out-of-pocket expenses include competition fees, summer camp, and dancewear for camp and competition. Uniforms are provided by the San Antonio Independent School District.

Are scholarships available?

Yes. The Lasso Alumni Association has awarded $68,700 in college scholarships to graduating Lasso seniors. Each year the LAA awards three named scholarships that preserve the history of the organization and additional scholarships as funds permit.


Traditionally awarded to the qualified applicant with the highest grade point average, this scholarship honors Constance Douglas Reeves, founder of the Lasso pep squad. She provided the vision for the traditional Lasso uniform and for developing roping skills. Named to the National Cowgirl Hall of Fame, she was known for her motto: “Always saddle your own horse.”


Traditionally awarded to the qualified applicant who has demonstrated strong community service and exceptional roping skills, this scholarship honors Jack Long, an experienced roper who taught the Lassos to rope in the 1930s. For three decades he devoted himself to helping the Lassos develop the roping skills that still set them apart today as a unique pep squad. His daughter, Patsy Long, is a member of the LAA.


JoAnn Ehrlich Dickinson Scholarship Traditionally awarded to the qualified applicant who demonstrates leadership qualities, this scholarship honors JoAnn Ehrlich Dickinson, a founding member of the Lasso Alumni Association. JoAnn was the first-lifetime member and treasurer of the LAA. This scholarship was funded by JoAnn’s family beginning in 2017 in her memory. There were five Lassos in the Ehrlich family.

Show your support for the TJHS Lasso Alumni Association by donating today.


Start typing and press Enter to search